The Ring Summer Criterium Series is back for 2018 with the Australia Day Criterium at Tech Park with a stacked field of more than 200 riders.

Following a good performance at the RoadNats elite women’s time trial, Rebecca Mackey will be a hot favourite for A-grade women.

This race will definitely attract some interest with a stacked field including current pro and series leader Jessica Allen, Veris Racing’s Emily Mascaro, last year’s champion Mel Robinson, former elite triathlete turned road cyclist Liz Burrows and the ever consistent Erin Nolan.

Emily, Danica and Craig Wiggins will be coming up from Albany along with the family to take on their respective grades with all three already taking wins in the series.

Under 19s Australian road champion Tyler Lindorff will be racing men’s A-grade.

The young up and coming star has a tough field to go up against including the Bennelong Swisswellness team which have three riders capable of winning in Michael Freiberg, Anthony Giacoppo and Scott Sunderland.

Last year’s champion Stephen Hall, up and coming star Bryce Lanigan, Pedal Mafia’s Guy Kalma, the Midland Cycle Club’s Aron Barclay and Peel’s Theo Yates are all also on the start list along with a host of other quality riders.  

Midland Cycle Club again have the biggest number of riders with 56 while South  Perth Rouleurs have 28 and Peel District Cycling Club will have 24 starters.

The day will also see several new racers take part for the first time with help from the coaches from the exercise institute.

The under 11s will also be taking part in Little Critters thanks to True Sport.

Thanks very much to our host clubs Roues Chardes Cycling Club and South Perth Rouleurs.