By Francis Curro 

The Ring Summer Criterium Series had a successful start to the 2017/2018 season with almost 230 riders hitting the hot Gnangara circuit to race on December 10.

Timothy Sellar took the A-grade Men’s race with Aron Barclay second and Ben O’Connor in third.

The three of them broke away from the main pack at the start of the race and survived a chase form the likes of Stephen Hall, Travis Meyer and Theo Yates.

Jessica Allen won Women’s A grade with a sprint finish ahead of rising superstar Emily Mascaro with Amanda Nabi third.

Michelle Duffield also showed the crowd she is one to watch this series as she looked right at home during the race.

In Men’s B grade, Martin Depiazzi took the win with the stacked field.

Mathew Wardynec was second and Henry Hunter landed on the final place of the podium in a race which featured almost 60 riders.

Ivan Vella won Men’s C, Nicholas Kennedy was second and third was Luke Alsford. Danica Wiggins won in Women’s B grade in a sprint finish.

Claudia Dohr was second and Shannon Miraglia took out the bronze.

Emily Wiggins continued the strong family form as she took out Women’s C grade.

Kirsty Auguston was second and Isabella Commons came home in third.

In Women’s D grade, Hwai Lee Wong took out the win with a massive breakaway.

Marina Thurman was second while Harriet Newson rounded out the podium.

Johno Montgomery was too strong in Men’s D grade easily taking the win from Andrew Yeates and Brian Johnson was as solid as ever in third.

Ben Pepper was the winner of Mixed E. With D and E grade mixed, he sat in the D grade bunch and no one else and rode home with the group.

Hayden Ivins and Ryley Collett second and third respectively.

Jordan Williams made a small piece of history, taking out he first race of the season in the under 13s with Rusty Wisewould second and Cooper Hiscox third in a sprint finish.

Racing will resume at Technology Park for Round Two of the Ring on December 17.